WWDML: Summer playscheme


Hey,

How are you? I am doing my Wednesdays walk down memory lane a day late because I needed your ideas for my four year friend aniversary. My apologises about that, but today I am bringing you my horrible childhood memories. The dreaded summer playscheme. 

Basically it was this play place set up for children of a certain age where they go and do activites for two weeks before having a “leavers party”. You would have activies such as making your own pompoms for cheerleading out of paper bags, then you’d have to perform and trust me, you didn’t have a choice about that.

There were sand pits, water pits and they invested in a water slide one year (what a terrible idea!) There was a little shop too where you would spend your pocket money on those 20p space raders and 10p ice polls that literally had no flavour. 

I remember one year, we had a birds of prey display, it was amazing. Well that was until the owl flew off into someones garden and didn’t come back. Safe to say we still have that owl flying around. It has its little yellow tag on. 

The best part of the whole thing was the party at the end. We felt like such cool kids staying out until 11pm, wearing poundland eyeshadow and our mums mascaras, we even used some coloured lipsill as lipstick. Honestly the lengths we would go to for this party was unreal, we would plan our outfits and shop for our accessories. 

I can honestly say, i am so thankful that I am too old to attend one of those things, and I publically announce that my children will never have to attend such torture. – Remind me of this in the future please!

◇◇◇◇

Well that is it guys, did you ever attend a summer playscheme? Was it as bad as mine? Let me know in the comments.

I hope you enjoyed reading about my torture. 

Stay safe, stay happy and live life as an adventure.

Love,

A x

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Ahahah one time we had to study Shakespeare for weeks and that was all we did as our end of year treat 😂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Alanna ♡ says:

      Omg noo! I would have cried! 😂 xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha this sounds amazing (ly cringe!) We never had anything like this but if we had i bet it wouldve been the most embarassing thing ever😂😂xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Alanna ♡ says:

      You are so lucky! Trust me you did not miss out on much 😂 xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

